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The "social host" law went into effect Friday, making adults liable for knowingly allowing underage drinking on their 

property. A violation would be a misdemeanor, punishable by a $1,000 fine and/or 90 days in jail. 

http://www.meridianstar.com/content/tncms/live/#1


         A new Mississippi law will crash drinking parties hosted by parents for teenagers. 

    On Friday, the "social host" law went into effect, making adults liable for knowingly 

allowing underage drinking (people younger than 21) on their property. A violation would 

be a misdemeanor, punishable by a $1,000 fine and/or 90 days in jail. 

    "We have parents and adults who make the statement, 'It's okay if they (youth) drink 

at home; it's safe, I'm there.' We have reported incidences of alcohol poisonings right 

there in the home," said LaTonya Horne-Cook, SPFSIG (Strategic Prevention 

Framework State Incentive Grant) director for Weems Mental Health Center. 

    Horne-Cooke is affiliated with the Mississippians Advocating Against Underage 

Drinking (MAAUD), which was among coalitions of parents and health advocates who 

supported the bill that, after two fails, passed the House and Senate without opposition 

this past legislative session. 

    Adults aren't the only ones who may face punishment if the law is violated. 

    A person under the age of 21 who purchases or possesses alcohol could be fined up 

to $500 and sentenced to up to 30 days of community service, Horne-Cook said. 

Additionally, if they present law enforcement a false document stating they are 21 years 

or older, they, too, can be found guilty of the social host law and fined for up to $500 

and sentenced to up to 30 days of community service. 

    Underage drinking is a problem statewide. According to Horne-Cooke, millions of 

dollars are spent for prevention, intervention and treatment. And Lauderdale County is 

ranked third in the state for underage drinking DUIs. 

    The social host law is not limited to underage drinking in the home, but also 

gatherings such as pasture parties, bon fires and on private properties such as camps 

or lake houses. While the law is not expected to put an end to underage drinking, 

proponents say it will be a deterrent. Most importantly, it will hold adults and parents 

who host drinking parties for teens – or allow them to drink at home – accountable. 
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    "Adults have to be more responsible as far as or youth acquiring alcohol," said Pam 

Vance, president of the Lauderdale County chapter of Mothers Against Drunk Drivers. 

    "With the social host law, adults will be more responsible with pasture parties or if 

something is going on their property. Whether they know about it (underage drinking) or 

not, they will be held responsible," Vance said. 

    Local law enforcement agrees that accountability is the most important aspect of the 

law. 

    "I think that accountability is a wonderful thing," Meridian Police Chief Lee Shelbourn 

said. 

    "This will be another tool in our toolbox for when we have situations where we have 

these type of gatherings," said Chief Deputy Ward Calhoun of the Lauderdale County 

Sheriff Department. "Now when deputies arrive on the scene, there is a charge for 

adults who host these events." 

    Realistically, law enforcement can't know about every party or bon fire where 

underage drinking is taking place. 

    "Typically, we will get a call from someone saying there's a lot of cars parked at a 

house or on private property and teenagers are being loud and unruly or stumbling," 

Calhoun said. 

    "If adults are having a gathering of young people at their residence, they need to be 

actively involved in what's going on their property. And they need to monitor those 

young people to make sure they are not doing anything to get the young people in 

trouble, or themselves in trouble," he said. 

    Additional information about the Social Host Law can be found online by searching 

Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated in Google. 



What’s the big deal? 

 Alcohol kills more teens than all other illegal drugs combined. 

 Teens who begin drinking before age 15 have a 40 percent higher chance of 

becoming alcohol dependent than those who wait to 21 to begin drinking. 

 Teens who drink regularly can shrink the part of the brain that controls learning, 

memory and decision-making. An adolescent's brain is still developing and is 

especially sensitive to alcohol and drugs. 

 According to a recent Monitoring the Future survey, nearly 1 out of 5 10th graders 

and 1 out of 4 12th graders had engaged in binge drinking at least once in the 

previous two weeks. 

 A 2009 national CASA (Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse) teen survey 

found that 1 out of 3 teen drinkers usually drink with the intent to get drunk, and 

teens that get drunk are 18 times likelier to have used marijuana. 

 Women absorb alcohol faster than men, so it takes less for them to become 

intoxicated. 

 Teens who drink are more likely to get poor grades, drop out of school, have 

unplanned and unprotected sex, and be a victim of car crashes, date rape, alcohol 

poisoning or suicide. 

 According to a recent study, an estimated 29 percent of high school students rode in 

a car with a drunk driver in the last month. 

 An alcohol conviction can limit a teen's scholarship opportunities and future career 

choices. Many careers require a license to practice, which may be denied. 

 


